Daily Archives: July 14, 2009

On cakes

Slice of cake

I love cakes. I even enjoy baking them too.

My latest very favourite is carrot cake. The recipe is courtesy of Molly. Yes, it’s an American recipe, and the measurements are in cups rather than weights, but I have to confess to quite liking that. I find it refreshing by way of a change. Cups are easier to wash up than my balancing scale and take much less space too!

Anyway, back to this cake. My tweak is to serve it warm from the oven with no icing and I also changed pecans for walnuts. The final flavour is very similar and it gives it a bit more of an English twist.

I last made is a few weeks ago and served it to Ted, Dee and Dan, and I have a craving to make it again, so I’m going to do that this weekend.

I look forward to making a happy mess in Dee’s beautiful kitchen. It’s bigger than my living room and it makes me think of an old fashioned kitchen, the kind of place that really is the hub of the home. I’ll also be cooking Sunday dinner in there, if my memory of other talks this last week or two serves me correctly!

Sorry that you won’t be able to partake of my cake, but do feel free to have a look at the recipe link and make it yourself!

Categories: Dan, Food, Fun Stuff, Life | 2 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.