A dream ends, but no regrets

Many moons ago I started this blog on another site and titled it “Raecheybaby’s Allotment” I was going to grow all sorts of things and I waited some years to get the chance to do that.

Finally last year that chance came and I bought tools and seeds and began to make a start. Unfortunately one of the key things to have when you are allotmenteering is a passion for growing things; and uniquely in my family I don’t have it. I think my family were good to let me try and wise to not help as much as I would have liked.

As is often the way with me I was felled by a combination of low mood, busy life and viruses, and so i didn’t/couldn’t attend to the allotment as I should have. The people who keep an eye on the plots to see that they are being cultivated and looked after decided that I wasn’t looking after it properly and advised me to hand back my gate key. Silently I agreed that keeping an allotment was really not for me.

I’m on the waiting list for a smaller plot but I suspect that when my turn rolls around again I shall decline and someone else can have the opportunity.

I think I had to try, because I have heard time and again that the thing most people regret in later life is what they didn’t attempt, and I wanted to be able to look back and say that I tried and realised it wasn’t for me. If I hadn’t, I’d probably have spent the rest of my life wondering if it could have been for me.

No regrets. I tried. Growing veg isn’t my shtick, much as I’d like it to be, but there are plenty of other things that I do that I am good at. I shall keep doing them.

Categories: Allotment, Life, observations | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A dream ends, but no regrets

  1. I did similar, I got an allotment and then was overwhelmed by the size of the plot and didn’t know where to start and ended up giving it up. Think you either have the bug or you don’t! xxx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

