My body is a temple

Although to look at me you might not believe it. I haven’t been treating myself with the respect required of a temple!

For those who follow this blog, the news that I’ve gained a lot of weight probably won’t come as too much of a surprise. It hasn’t been an easy year, and I do very easily head for the kitchen when I’m unhappy.

However, finding that my biggest stretch jeans didn’t want to stay fastened any more was a wakeup call that I couldn’t ignore. Stepping on the scales dampened more than one hankie and so a trawl around the net and questioning a variety of friends led to joining Slimming World.

Several of us joined as a group in one week, it’s been good, cause we come away from the scales, and there’s no way you can pretend to two of your best friends that you’ve had a good week if you haven’t, and likewise, you can’t quite hide it when you’ve reached a milestone either! To be fair I will say that my friends have overtaken me on the weight-loss thing already. They are better at planning their days and seem to be better able to stick to eating the right things and not reaching for a bag of sweets or a pastry than I am, but I live in hopes that I’ll catch them up soon and keep pace with them. I am learning to use the tools available and how to avoid the pitfalls that come by every few seconds (wine, chocolate, sweets, pastries, cakes) and when it’s ok to have just a bit of something by way of a treat.

It’s not like you go hungry on Slimming World, there’s plenty of foods that you can run wild on, I’m just still learning to not reach for the foods that made me the shape I am, and head instead for foods that taste just as good, but will help me become the shape I want to be.  That in itself is a semi-untrue statement actually. I don’t really have a problem with my size or shape; the thing that really sent me flying to lose weight was the fact that my BMI was almost 40 – pushing me into the realms and the reach of the obesity-related illnesses and diseases. I’m not at all happy about that fact, and it’s that more than my dress size that is pushing me to lose the weight and head for a safer BMI.

I know it can be done, I have lost weight unaided before, but not having learned properly the principles of how to eat wisely, I feel that doing this journey with Slimming World will teach me, and when I reach target I will be lighter, but I’ll also be healthier and hopefully happier with myself as a result and better able to respect the body I have been given to live out my life in.

Take care!

Categories: Beginning, Food, Life, Plans | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

