Our First Christmas Together – part 1

Now that it’s the day after I have a little headspace to be able to tell you what happened over the last couple of days without needing to think about what’s got to happen tomorrow.

Christmas Eve was very busy.

For me it’s a working day and a day shift at that. I had to get up, get dressed and feed the cats and myself before charging to work through ice and snow to work.

 It was terrifying. The ice had started to melt the day before and then refroze in the night and everywhere was an ice rink. I fell off the bike and landed on my back just trying to get to work over a patch of ice that looked fairly safe.

We had our traditional indian feast mid-morning and then finished off and went home midday, again, as is traditional here. More ice. I walked the bike home knowing the ice wouldn’t have gone in four short hours, and sure enough it was still there. This time I fell on my knees across the bike at a point where it had looked really safe.

I got home and warned Dan and Ted about safe parking and proceeded to bundle two confused moggies into carriers, make a flask of coffee and shuffle together the final items of food that had been stored out of cat reach and then sit witha drink til the Bongo arrived to take me away for Christmas.

For all the snow and ice it was a smooth journey. The roads were busy but not gridlocked and we got through in only slightly more time than it normally takes. The cats cried as expected but they calmed down and just waited to see what would happen next.

We got things unpacked and then let the cats out in Dan’s room and left them to settle while we had a traditional Chinese takeaway dinner and set the last presents under the tree.

I did develop a bug that turned into a cold and as a result I’m really tired, so this is going to be more than one post to sum up the weekend.

Take care one and all

Categories: Dan, Food, Travel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

