What a great weekend

Truth be told, I wasn’t expecting this past weekend to be up to much. It was the in-between-seeing-Dan weekend that I always hate, going stir-crazy in the house by myself, not wanting to do anything and hating that I feel that way.

Anyway. That was before I was reminded about the Brazilian Grand Prix and the fact that a couple of world championship titles were up for grabs.  No contest, BBC1 went on and twitter logged in and away we went to a very wet Brazil of a Saturday afternoon.

I’ll confess that for a good deal of the actual driving time of practice and qualification I was on my knees with my heart in my mouth. Someone on the track described it as a water feature, and I don’t think that’s too much of an exaggeration; the track really did look like a river, and to really top it all off properly, the weather radar got hit by lightning, so that was out of action and couldn’t be used to work out how long between rain squalls.

The drivers had to go out and pray really, and I can well imagine that more than one of them did just that, people who normally deal well with wet conditions were spinning out, aquaplaning, stalling, you name it.

It made for an odd looking grid lineup for Sunday, drivers who you’d normally see at or near the front were really close to the back and I couldn’t help but worry about the kind of mayhem we’d be in for on Sunday. I needn’t have worried. The weather cleared overnight and the track was dry. After the lights went out the race started smoothly although there was the traditional pileup at turn 1  that Jenson and Lewis neatly got around. There followed some of the best driving at a Grand Prix that I’ve ever witnessed.

Lewis Hamilton started from 17th on the grid, and Jenson Button from 14th. In spite of an accident that almost caused a fight and a bad smack by someone else that brought out the safety car, someone else driving off with the fuel rig still attached – that caused a flash-fire in the following drivers face – and several “rookie” drivers, both of them drove well and managed to stay right out of trouble.

Lewis finished 3rd and Jenson came 5th; which, incidentally, was enough to get him the drivers championship title. It also meant that Brawn GP took the constructors’ championship in their debut year no less. Webber came first in case you were wondering. It was a little sad for Webber fans really, Jenson came in 5th and totally overshadowed the fact that someone else had won the race.

It was as good as a weekend alone can get really, I could shout and scream and laugh and cry at the tv and be really proud of the man that “some” had dismissed as not having the killer edge that would get him the title.

Well done Jenson, thanks for giving me a great weekend and achieving the title with a drive to be proud of.

Categories: Dan, Life, Sport | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

JACK MONROE

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP & MORE

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

