Dreams of other shores

I love the coast of Britain. I love the bits that are not touristy, too rugged to get to and not very child friendly. I love that you have to work to see it and be there and get around there

Having just watched this week’s Coast on BBC iPlayer I’m understanding myself a bit better. I’ve always known that there’s more than a drop of Norse blood in me, and this particular episode is set around Norway.

It was  stunning. I could see the places I want to go to and places I want to live in. It’s not that it’s an easy place to live, far from it; Norway has mountains that are unstable, winters that are incredibly cold, and very long nights to match. Even so, something in me wants to see it, and would love to live in a place where nothing is taken for granted.

Back to real life!

I’ve put another flea treament on Oliver and Jewel, Jewel has been crawling with fleas and I’ve learned the hard way that you get what you pay for in terms of which treatments work and which don’t.

You would have thought that I was trying to put doll’s clothes on Jewel though, she’s looking at me as though I’m the scum of the earth, subjecting her to things no cat should deal with rather than the person who is making sure that she’s healthy and comfortable! Oliver, on the other hand, just woke from his morning nap, let me put the drops on, and then went straight back to sleep! Mind you, he is 11 years old and has been flea treated many times now.

I’m hoping to get some meals batch cooked and frozen over the weekend, I’ve been eating a lot of ready meals and I’m sure I can cook something that tastes better for the same price. Yes, I’m at home without Dan and trying to think of ways to keep busy so I’m not constantly aware of the empty house. It will feel wrong watching the Grand Prix without him here or me there.

Categories: Food, Life, observations, Travel | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

