How dare we?

I’m watching the news as I type this. A huge military plane has just flown home four more soldiers lost in action.

I’ve heard the comments from the families involved, the pride they have in thier son or thier husband for going out and doing a very hard job.

My thinking is that if those people who are grieving can still be proud of the armed forces and the job they are doing, how dare we as unrelated civilians complain because we think a particular war is wrong? Surely they have more of a right because they have and had more to lose for the war?

I intend to make it my mission to be there at Wootton Bassett to welcome those heroes home sometime very soon.

They do a very hard job, and risk death so we don’t have to. If we do not want to risk being killed because the war has come to us, we have to let them do their jobs, and we should be proud of them for doing it.  I know that I am.

*and breathe*

There. I’ve said my bit, and you can comment if you like, but this is one thing I do feel very strongly about.

Categories: Life, observations, Rants | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “How dare we?

  1. Sarah

    For what it’s worth I agree with you. We may not agree with the reasons for the war, but the armed forces sent out there go because they signed up and will go where they’re sent, do what they’re told. It must be really disheartening for them to think the fact that they put their lives in danger every single day is simply unappreciated.

    I don’t have any family or friends out there. But if I did, I would hope people would be proud of them for doing their bit for their country.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

