I call that a success really

Yes, today was the day the girlfriend cooked for the family.

Dan and I made the much-talked-of carrot cake, and we had it at afternoon tea time still warm (actually hot) from the oven. Went down a storm with everyone, even me! I haven’t made it for a few weeks and I’d kind of forgotten how good it tastes, so to eat warm carrot cake and love it, and have three other people round me declaring that it was good was no bad thing!

After a round of golf on the Wii sports, we went back in the kitchen and did the roast chicken a la Jamie Oliver, with lemon and herbs.  I loved seeing Dan being all tentative and then finding how easy it is to make a roast dinner that tastes really good. It was also highly amusing to dash in and out of the game of golf to put veg to cook and then again to sear the asparagus. It did occur to me that you could only play golf and still cook dinner if you had Wii Sports – and I wish I had house space for a Wii, only my shoebox just isn’t big enough, I’d break a window for sure!

When it was served up, chicken, new potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, asparagus, gravy, it didn’t stay on the plates long! I was so pleased to see that. I do worry. I know the food I like to eat and I worry whether my tastes are weird or just different or not, you ust know how it is when you’re getting to know a new group of people. I needn’t have worried, it was nice, they liked it and it dissappeared!

Categories: Dan, Food, Fun Stuff, Life | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I call that a success really

  1. It was delicious, and I thoroughly enjoyed beating you at Wii Sports Golf… 😀 xx

  2. Rachel

    I wasn’t fussed about winning or losing, just playing the game without having to walk – that said I do fancy trying the game for real though…

  3. Trudy

    As Mark Twain wisely said “Golf is a good walk spoiled” :p

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

asejohannessen49

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Attic24

live my life with me, see the world the way I see it

Skonkworks

Where Are We Going? Who Cares? Let’s Go.

Jesus Army Action

Taking Jesus to the people, anywhere, anytime.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

